Sunday, August 26, 2007

Just Answer the Question!!!

It never ceases to amaze me how politicians, celebrities or other publicly known figures are asked simple "yes" or "no" questions, they just can't say it. They have to go into a long winded shpeale about the answer and maybe, just maybe, they'll answer with a "yes" or "no". Can't they just give the answer and THEN explain why? This drives crazy everytime I have to ber witness to this.

Wednesday, August 22, 2007

Cigarette Smokers on Campus

While going to my classes I have to walk the campus sidewalks like everyone else. What pisses me off is the fact that there will always be some asshole with an uncontrollable urge to smoke and walk at the same time in front of me. I thought of an idea, if they want free range with tobacco products how about I take up chewing tobacco and while I walk to class, when some jackass blows smoke in my face, I spit my tobacco juice in theirs. Sounds fair to me. Cigarette smokers, in general, are selfish individuals. They feel the need to feed their habit regardless of the ramifications on others around them. Suicide is a selfish act, the fact that they do it slowly is just semantics. Smokers come up with all the excuses in the world for why they have the right to inflict their air pollution on someone. The fact that they have to make excuses and not give answers shows their guilt. Anyone who has a clue can tell the difference between an answer and an excuse. Point, there is no answer for smoking...PERIOD!

Tuesday, August 21, 2007

More Princess Diana

ENOUGH ALREADY!!! Okay, I get it, she's dead and she'll be missed...horribly! Let the woman rest in peace, please?!?! I see on CNN today they are (yet again) scoping the death of Lady Di. I wonder what Diana would think of all this commotion over her death and the morbid fascination that people have with it? I can't help but wonder if the big news channels are running out of new material. For the love of God, I implore all who feel the need to report more Diana news, stop it already! The horse is dead, stop beating it!

Monday, August 20, 2007

Cell Phones in the Wrong Places

It never fails, I'm in class every other day and some one's phone goes off in the middle of class. What's more is that now a days, instructors don't do much about it. This semester, however, is a different story. I have 2 instructors that will deduct attendance points or give failing grades on a test if your phone goes off in class or during a test. Halla-frickin'-lujah, it's about time some accountability took place over this inexcusable behavior! Same goes for movie theaters, you see on the screen just before the movie starts as a reminders for people to turn off their phones, yet what happens during the movie? Some idiot's phone goes off. It happened to me not even a few weeks ago in the theater when some jackass didn't turn off his phone and it went off. I just can't believe that people have such a selfish need to interfere with everyone else's good time or whatever, just so they can stay in touch with someone. This goes for you text messengers too, I hope you get carpal tunnel syndrome if you do that in class or in a theater.

Friday, August 17, 2007

Getting on the Freeway Doing Less Than 50 MPH

I was on my way home and while getting on the freeway some idiot decides that maybe it wasn't such a good idea to get on the freeway due to being scared of it. That's the only option I could think of for what I saw. While trying to get on, the idiot in front of me never got above 50, he even hit the brake just before hitting the flow! What would posses someone to get on the freeway if they can't meet the speed requirements to avoid getting themselves or others killed? I don't get it. I wish I had an explanation that was believable, but this was absolutely insane! If you can't speed up or merge, then just turn in your licence and stay home! I don't want to die because of some one's fear of traffic.

Thursday, August 16, 2007

Studies Show That...

How irritating can you get? When you turn on the news you hear about(yet again) a new study that shows_______. I love it when they say that too much of this "may" cause that. For instance, the new study of diet soda: Studies show that drinking too much diet soda "may" lead to weight gain, higher blood pressure, etc. They never take a really long look in these "studies". Have you noticed that a lot of these studies get debunked later after further research? I just wish that the media would take the time to screen information before broadcasting it. They look like ambulance chasers when new information comes out, it's like a race on who can put this out over the air first. To the media: get a clue, get a conscience. This is all I have to contribute for now.

Wednesday, August 15, 2007

Music Today

For some reason, I don't think I'll be able to finish this without sounding like my parents. But, today's music sucks, period! Is it any surprise that there is always a reference to the 80's and 70's music? Why, because the term "artist" has lowered its standards. In the 70's and 80's, music was at it's peak and now look. The people I see getting nominated for Grammies and MTV music awards is truly sad. Have a gimmick, good track, and half-assed talent? Well, you meet the criteria. There is more disappointment in music than Hugh Hefner losing his Viagra prescription. Just my opinion, but there should be a funeral held for the music industry.

Tuesday, August 14, 2007

Profanity on Television

I actually could care less about how much of it there is on television. I have been hearing lately a lot of confessed 'Christians' who after watching a show(in its entirety), they simply are disgusted with the amount of profanity, they'll even tell you how many times each offensive word was said. Look, all I'm saying is, change the channel! The same goes for sex scenes that are tame compared to that of pay channels like Showtime, Movie Channel, Cinemax, Etc. There's a little thing called responsibility. Screen what your kids watch so they don't get exposed to it, next, if you yourself don't like what you see then don't watch you closet pervert! No one is going to screen your programs for you, you're an adult and need to act like one. Times are changing and unfortunately, those who don't like the new trends are getting upset because they're being left out. I'm not sure if it's really that, more or less, they are probably now the minority of what gets requested. I personally hate Reality TV, but it's everywhere, I just change the channel or turn the TV off and do something constructive. God forbid anyone has to stop watching TV and get some exercise or something like that. Before I forget, if you have to watch the whole show just to see how mortified you can get as the show progresses, you have issues...clearly.

Monday, August 13, 2007

Have It Your Way...Or Their Way?

This is not much of a complaint, but nonetheless, a complaint. When I go out to eat and say, order a cheeseburger, shouldn't that be what I get and just that? Then why do they add pickles, ketchup, mustard, and in some places onions? When you stroll up to the counter and order that cheeseburger they should then ask what you want on it. Me, I like my cheeseburgers plain, I don't need a garden thrown on top just because someone thought that that's how everyone likes them. There are a few chains out there who have managed to get this right by giving you just a cheeseburger, then ask if you want anything on it or better yet, you put it on yourself and however much of it you want on it. Putting stuff on that I didn't order because it just happens to be the way they do things is just so communist. It's bad enough to get this order taken from someone who just wants me and everyone behind me to go somewhere else besides their location. Like I said, a menial complaint, but still a complaint.

Sunday, August 12, 2007

Should the Drinking Age Be Lowered to 18?

This topic is more top heavy than Pamela Anderson in a centrifuge. I watched coverage of this issue this morning on TV and it already had me irritated before it was over with. I say lower it. Why? First, I you can fight for your country and vote at 18, then you should be able to drink as well. I love to hear "experts" say, "Studies show that...Blah, Blah, Blah." You know that studies show a lot of things...when they are recorded! How many teenagers are willing to have their behavior accurately recorded. At that age, you're busy sneaking around and learning how to lie to your parents better. Second, I hear, "Eighteen year-olds can't make solid decisions at that age because there is a part of their brain that is still forming and drinking requires solid decision making skills." And enlisting in the military doesn't? Thanks for the ammo "experts". Louisiana already has a drinking age of 18 and they haven't fallen into chaos...that's what hurricanes are for(not the Pat O'Brian's kind). Lastly, the more you raise the drinking age, the more it will entice people of that age, it's true. Most people from the early 80's, when the drinking age was raised, saw from the get-go, the effect that it created and watched it grow with time. I don't support drinking at that age by any means, but I don't encourage the government forcing 18 year-olds to be more creative in their approach to deceive their parents and so forth.

Friday, August 10, 2007

...But It's a Dry Heat

I actually heard someone say, "yeah, it's hot here , but I sure wouldn't want to be out there in the desert where it's 115." I can tell this much, I've lived in Arizona, Washington(the state), Arkansas, and now here in Ozark, Mo. I will take 115-120 heat out in Arizona or Washington than 90-95 heat in Arkansas or Missouri. Humidity people, that DOES make a difference. I distinctly remember not even a year ago in Spokane where I drove around without the A/C on and saw a bank's sign reading 103. I thought it was way off, at the time, then I get home and later on the news came on and they reported a record 105 for the day! I will be the first to admit that I'm not one to do without A/C in the summer, I just can't take it. When it hits the 80's here, I hit the A/C. I believe that people who make such outlandish statements, as previously mentioned, have never been in desert climate. Anyway, as I said in a previous post, "I can't wait 'til fall." Now THAT is a true statement.

Thursday, August 9, 2007

Summer...and Its Fair Weather Friends.

Yes, you know who you are. Those of you while in the dead of winter uttered the phrase,"I just can't wait 'til Summer gets here." Well, here it is and I hope you're happy. I got two words for ya, "Heat Index." The same people who couldn't wait for summer are probably saying they wished fall was here this very moment. Even when the ice storms hit the Springfield, MO area where I live, I was still content with the season. I happen to be a big fan of fall and winter. I'm not much of a fan of spring or summer. I've always said that there were three seasons here in this part of the world; fall, summer and Hell! It just so happens that Hell lasts longer than any of the others. So, for those of you who are HUGE fans of summer and are not so pleased right now, Bite Me! I hope you get heat exhaustion everyday the words "heat index" are used ( notice I didn't say heat stroke as that would be malicious even for me).

Wednesday, August 8, 2007

Seatbelt Laws and Helmet Laws

Nationwide, Click it or ticket campaigns are everywhere. Yet helmet laws are sporadic, why? Purely my opinion, if you inforce one, you enforce the other. In a sanse they are almost the same. They are saftey devices put in place to provide a measure of saftey for the driver and occompanying passenger. If helmeta are optional, then so should seat belts. If someone wants to tempt fate, let 'em. The Highway Patrol should be more occupied by the late mergers and left lane laggers, they are the real problems. I do use my seatbelt, but there are times that I get preoccupied with something and forget to use it, when I notice it, I make the adjustment. Just seems like a crappy way to get a ticket (and no, I was not pulled over recently for this). Again, this is just my opinion.

Tuesday, August 7, 2007

People Who Don't Merge in Construction Zones

This probably pisses me off as much as the "lagging in the left lane" I mentioned earlier. People see the signs, they see other people getting over in the lane being merged into, and yet they still haul ass to get to the front of the line and thus bottle necking the traffic behind them. And of course, some sap feels sorry for them enough to let them in anyway. New law, anyone who charges down the lane that is about to be closed, after clear indication has been made and visible as to which lane is being closed, has to submit to a 30 minute penalty on the side of the road while everyone he/she has passed gets to drive by them and taunt them if they see fit. If anyone who is guilty of doing this and happens to stumble upon this site and reads this, just so you know, there are others out there who have no problem with running you off into the median or ditch when you try pulling this crap. I'm not mentioning names, just informing all who read this that they do exist. And by the way, PISS ON YOU, YOU SELF-RIGHTEOUS ASSHOLE!!!

Monday, August 6, 2007

Now On DVD, Now On TV

Every once in a while I like to rent movies, just like everyone else. But, what gets me is some movies that are now out on DVD later show up on TV (SPIKE, USA, TNT). The problem I have with this is, of course, EDITING! Have you ever tried to watch something like "The Usual Suspects" on regular broadcast? A great movie turned silly with all the dubbed words and missing footage. I actually saw a listing for "Showgirls"(obviously, one of the worst movies ever made, even the uncensored version). I couldn't believe that it was scheduled for 2 hours of airtime. With all the editing, it should be more like a 30 minute clip, unless they plan to run over an hour for commercials. The only movies I have ever watched on regular TV was "Harry Potter" films. The ones aired usually contain deleted scenes from the theatrical version. Does anyone ever get any distinct pleasure out of watching movies on regular television broadcast?

Sunday, August 5, 2007

Nancy Grace...What A Disgrace!

WOW, and I thought FOX News was annoying. Move over Bill O' Reilly, there's a new shit disturber in town. Jesus-tap-dancing-Christ-and-the-marching-band! What a condescending, obnoxious, self-serving, callous, shallow, self-deluded, opportunistic, exploiting-the-weak-willed COW! I had no idea...really. I just happened to be flipping through the channels and came across I heard, vaguely, from my sister about her and really didn't give it too much thought, then to witness this atrocity of programming in action...what else can I say,but...DAMN!!! I would rather be strained through chain-link fence, than to see her on TV again. Even with the brief exposure, I almost feel compelled to consult with an attorney to see about suing CNN for the assault on my better judgement. I wonder if Hell has notice that they're missing one of their demon-spawn. I don't know if she has family or not, but if she does, I think a rescue mission or intervention is in order. I don't say this lightly, as I will provide supporting material to show that everything I have just mentioned has validation.

Saturday, August 4, 2007

Screaming Children and the Parents Who...Ignore Them

What is it about Walmarts that attract parents who chose THAT particular time to not deal with their kids? Has anyone ever been to Walmart and NOT heard a screaming kid during your visit? What tells person that the best way to discipline your child is to just let him scream, maybe he will run out of energy after a while and calm down...(yeah, after 30 minutes of blood curdling screaming) I can't tell you how many times, when I witness this lack of parenting skill , that I would love to backhand the non responsive parent(regardless of gender). How about that calm, reasoning approach...(in a very quiet and effortless voice)"Now,Now, don't do that. I don't appreciate you acting up like this" What-the-hell-ever, you weak minded, self deluded piece of crap!
Okay, new rule...the next time you see a parent taking the 'passive' approach, the next closest and non-related adult, must take charge and take the child out of the store with the parent and bitch slap the parent with the child watching. Oh yeah, the offending parent must also give up what ever cash they have on them to the adult who had to take charge to compensate for the inconvenience. Just joking, of course...sort of.

Friday, August 3, 2007

Are People in the Media Getting More Rude or Is It Just Me?

I was watching an interview this morning and noticed that the guy giving the interview kept cutting off the other guy he was interviewing so he could ask another question. Soon as he interrupts and talks over the other guy, they both stop talking and then there is this awkward silence and then the interviewer apologizes for cutting him off. If he would have just let the guy finish his thought, this probably wouldn't have happened and would not have to waste time with the awkward silence and the time it took to apologize. I have noticed this on every station: CNN, NBC, ABC, CBS...etc. What's the deal? Everytime I witness this behavior, I find myself yelling at the TV like an idiot saying: "Shut the hell up and let the guy finish you asshole!"
The thought had occurred to me that this is not just in the media but with normal everyday conversations that people have. I have found that I am somewhat guilty of this behavior too. Did I learn this by being exposed to rude reporters and unconsciously adapt this into my everyday communication skills? Every once in a while I will catch a show like "Meet the Press" and the like, and they show footage from 'back in the day'. I don't see the same style of Q&A as I see now. I know there are time constraints, but is that a good enough excuse for this disturbing trend? If there is another reason why these people have chosen this new and inconsiderate way of communication, I'd like to hear it.

Thursday, August 2, 2007

Driving Slow in the Left Lane

This, I have to tell you, is my biggest complaint. Where do I start? Not a day goes by when I'm hittin' the highway and some jackass wants to just sit there and cruise or play traffic monitor...HELLO!?!? In most staes now, this is illegal as it leads in the reasons for road rage. It used to just be a courtesy to get over, but now IT'S THE LAW!!! Here in Missouri I was suprised to find out that the fine for impeding traffic in the left lane is only $20! I know I'm not alone in this struggle for sanity on the road, is it so hard to just get the hell over, people? I'm normally a conservative driver, considering what I drive, but this really makes me want to do bad things to people on the road just to get them back. Anybody else have this problem?

Wednesday, August 1, 2007

Parking In the Handicap Space...and Not Even Handicapped!!!

I see on a daily basis, people who have those 'temporary' hanging handicap tags parking in the handicap spots and when they get out of their car, there isn't a thing wrong with them. Its funny how they don't want to leave the tag on their rear view mirror at all times, just when they need it. I can't help it, I'm urked at such behavior. Mind you, I'm not out to start a campaign to have these people rounded up and shot, but it is unsettling. I did see a guy at a Wal-Mart getting a ticket, while he was standing there, and as I walked by, I couldn't help but laugh with him seeing and hearing me. He didn't have a temp tag so it's obvious why he got it, but should this be no different for those who expoit the system? I'm curious to know how the rest of you feel about this.